IU staff members receive awards from the Society for Technical Communication competitions

Several staff members from the Indiana University Bloomington and Indianapolis (IUPUI) campuses have been recognized for the superior quality of their work by the Society for Technical Communication (STC) in its Chicago Chapter and International 2008-09 annual competitions of technical publications, art, and online communication.

Receiving Distinguished Awards in the STC Chicago Chapter competition were Maria Morris, Jan Holloway, and Malinda Lingwall. Receiving Merit Awards were Sarah Engel, Maria Morris, John Samuel, Christine Fitzpatrick, Martin Wagner, Manjit Trehan, David Poindexter, Ned Shaw, Kathleen Chmelewski, and Rebecca Salerno.

The entries that received the Chapter Distinguished Award were eligible for the STC International competition where they won another Distinguished Award, an Excellence Award, and two Merit Awards.

“STC sets high standards in its annual competitions. IU has competed against such well-known companies as IBM and Microsoft,” said Gregory Moore, senior communications specialist with IU’s University Information Technology Services (UITS) Communications Office. “The quality of work of IU staff has benefited greatly over the years from the competition process and judges’ feedback.”

“Plus,” Moore added, “The recognition is great for morale. It’s nice to know your work is on par with the best.” Moore coordinates IU’s submissions to the competitions and is also a senior member of STC.

STC is a worldwide professional association whose mission is to advance the arts and sciences of technical communication. It is the largest association of its kind with over 14,000 members.

About the winners

Celebrating the Progress 1998-2008, Continuing the Journey

Jan Holloway, Senior Communications Advisor & Special Projects, UITS Communications Office

Maria Morris, Visual Communications Specialist, Office of the President

Distinguished Award, International (Art), Chicago Chapter (Art and Publications)

Merit Award, International (Publications)

Celebrating the Progress 1998-2008, Continuing the Journey was the only Distinguished Award winner in the International Technical Art Competition. The booklet celebrates IU’s IT strategic plan 10th anniversary and the IT-based accomplishments it enabled at IU. It introduces the new Vice President for IT and CIO Brad Wheeler and his leadership team, and sets the stage for IU’s second round of strategic planning for IT across the university.

METACyt Initiative Retrospective 2005-2008

Malinda Lingwall, Information Manager, METACyt Initiative

Maria Morris, Visual Communications Specialist, Office of the President

Distinguished Award, Chicago Chapter (Art and Publications)

Excellence Award, International (Publications)

Merit Award, International (Art)

The Indiana METACyt Initiative is a $53M grant to advance life sciences at Indiana University. The Retrospective looks back at progress made during the first half of the five-year grant term. It includes an overview of the Initiative’s goals as well as brief descriptions of the research projects funded by the Initiative.

IU Stat/Math Center Brochure

Sarah Engel, Communications Specialist, UITS Communications Office

Maria Morris, Visual Communications Specialist, Office of the President

John Samuel, Manager, UITS Center for Statistical and Mathematical Computing (Stat/Math)

Merit Award, Chicago Chapter (Publications)

The Stat/Math brochure serves three purposes: 1) To provide information about the software and services offered by the Stat/Math Center; 2) to facilitate access to Stat/Math support, training and education, and specialized consulting; and 3) to encourage IU faculty, students, and staff to take advantage of the university’s research computing resources.


Christine Fitzpatrick, Communications Officer, Office of the Vice President for Information Technology and CIO

Ned Shaw, Associate Director of Creative Strategy, Office of Public Affairs & Government Relations

Kathleen Chmelewski, Interactive Art Director, IU Office of Creative Services

Rebecca Salerno, Co-Director, IU Office of Creative Services

Martin Wagner, Podcast Project Lead, UITS Enterprise Web Tech Services

Manjit Trehan, Developer, UITS Enterprise Web Tech Services

David Poindexter, Hourly, UITS Enterprise Web Tech Services

Merit Award, Chicago Chapter (Online Communication)

Podcast.iu.edu was created to provide a single online portal where audiences can find podcast content from around the IU community all in one place. Podcast content from a variety of sources is brought together into a single accessible, user-friendly online environment, bringing together the resources of the wider IU community.

Substack subscription form sign up
The material in this press release comes from the originating research organization. Content may be edited for style and length. Want more? Sign up for our daily email.