History of Science Symposium May 9

When researching my history of physics in the twentieth century that was recently published by Facts On File, my best source of authoritative information was the American Institute of Physics Center for the History of Physics and the Neils Bohr Library and Archives.

The long-time director of that Center, Spencer Weart, is retiring, and I got the following notice of a symposium in his honor.

UPDATE: Walter Isaacson, author of Einstein, His Life and His Universe, and the CEO and President of the Aspen Institute, has recently accepted our invitation to speak at the upcoming History that Matters Symposium on May 9, 2008 at the American Center for Physics in College Park, MD. He joins our roster of distinguished speakers who are taking the opportunity of Spencer Weart’s retirement as Director of the Center to celebrate the history of science through a series of talks and a panel. This event, beginning at 9 a.m., is co-sponsored by the American Institute of Physics, Center for History of Physics and Niels Bohr Library & Archives and the Department of History, University of Maryland.

Please RSVP by May 5 at http://www.aip.org/history/symposium.html. Space may be limited, so RSVP early.

The speakers (in order of appearance) are:
Naomi Oreskes – Professor of History and Science Studies, U. of California, San Diego
Daniel J. Kevles – Stanley Woodward Professor of History, Yale University
John L. Heilbron – Professor Emeritus of History, University of California, Berkeley
Gerald Holton – Mallinckrodt Research Professor of Physics, Harvard University
Charles Weiner – Professor Emeritus of History of Science, MIT
Ronald E. Doel – Associate Professor, jointly with Departments of History and Geosciences, Oregon State University
John S. Rigden – Honorary Professor of Physics, Washington University in St. Louis
Walter Isaacson – President and CEO of the Aspen Institute
Ruth Lewin Sime – Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, Sacramento City College
David H. DeVorkin – Curator, National Air & Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution
Spencer R. Weart – Director, Center for History of Physics, AIP

The material in this press release comes from the originating research organization. Content may be edited for style and length. Want more? Sign up for our daily email.